Dreams sometimes come true – this time it might be a pdf report generator in Smalltalk


just a few weeks ago, we interviewed Christian Haider on our SmalltalkInspect podcast (it’s in German), where, among a lot of other interesting stuff, we discussed how cool it would be if someone came up with a pdf report generator in top of his pdf4smalltalk framework.

And now consider this: Bob Nemec just wrote about his work on such a thing over on his blog. He’s working on a seaside-canvas – inspired renderer for reports on top of pdf4smalltalk. He’s preparing a talk about it for this year’s ESUG conference (to be held held in Gent, Belgium late August) [UPDATE: Bob points out in a comment that the conference he’s going to speak about his work is going to be the Smalltalk Industry Conference 2012 which will be held in Biloxi, Mississippi USA on March 18-21] .

The best part, however, is this:

Still a lot of work to do, but I’m looking forward to showing it at the conference. And, if it’s good enough, it will be added to the VW public store (long term plans are to port to other Smalltalk dialects).

So it’s going to be open sourced!

It seems Bob has gotten quite some stuff working already (he’s talking abut it in the above-linked post): word wrap, tables – partly even with coslspan and rowspan properties, and I guess quite a little bit more.

Can’t wait to see it in action…

3 thoughts on “Dreams sometimes come true – this time it might be a pdf report generator in Smalltalk

  1. Thanks for noticing, however the ‘conference’ I’ll be talking at will be the Smalltalk Industry Conference in Biloxi, Mississippi on March 18-21. I’d love to go to ESUG, but Gent is not in my plans.

    1. Hi Bob,

      thanks for the clarification. I’ll update my post in a few minutes.
      In fact, that’s good news: you’re confident enough to show it in March rather than August, so we’re gonna see it even sooner.

      I will, unfortunately, not come to either one, in my case, Biloxi is is too far away and the ESUG schedule has not been coordinated with mine😉

      But be assured I can really recommend visiting Gent. It’s a beautiful city. I visited it a few times back when I was on a project in Belgium and loved it!

      Joachim

Comments are closed.