Alan Kay will talk at Potsdam about “Next steps for qualitatively improving programming”


On July 21st, 2011, the Hasso-Plattner-Institute at the University of Potsdam, Germany, will give Alan Kay its HPI Fellowship Award (german). Kay is known as the father of object oriented programming and Smalltalk and the Dynabook vision and coined a few famous terms:

The best way to predict the future is to invent it

I invented the term “object oriented” and I can tell you I did not have c++ in mind

The computer revolution hasn’t happened yet!

There’s so much more to say about Kay that I don’t even try because I will not do a good job of it. If you don’t know about Kay, start with the Wikipedia article here.

At the event, he will give a talk called “Next steps for qualitatively improving programming”, which will also be recorded and put online after the event.

Venue: Lecture Hall 1, Hasso-Plattner-Institut Potsdam, Germany
Date and time: July 21 (Thu) 2011, 16:00-17:00