How closed will the Mac universe be in, say, 5 years?

I love using my Mac. I like my iPhone. The new Air is really an interesting piece of hardware. Part of the reason I like my Apple products is that they run quite stable and offer a pleasant overall experience with installing/uninstalling applications. I also like the fact that I can use my Linux/Unix shell … Continue reading How closed will the Mac universe be in, say, 5 years?

Smalltalk 4 You: Video on installing VA Smalltalk

James Robertson continues to publish greatly appreciated material on getting started with Smalltalk. His latest work is a little runthrough of VA Smalltalk's installation on a Windows PC. There's one little comment I'd like to add here by linking to Instantiations' installation guide (which is available online and can be installed as James shows in … Continue reading Smalltalk 4 You: Video on installing VA Smalltalk