Agile Certification to the rescue


Sebastian Kübeck sums up very nicely what I’ve been thinking about certifications in the agile methodolgy field for a while:

It’s a way of making lots of money out of a very short and precise set of ideas. Not that I have any problems with people having a business model that seems to be based on very little substance. I also am not an opponent of agile methods.

But I guess it’s somewhat counter-productive to build up a load of formalism and course material on the agile idea. Attending a two-day course or even a week’s course and taking a test will not make you a good agile developer or product owner or team leader or whatever.

Working with these ideas, finding out what works good for you and for your team, building up your own set of good practices and being able to change that set for a new team with different talents is what is needed.

Unfortunately, recruiters and HR people like certificates, so the business model seems to work very well:

After all the madness around Scrum Certification, there is now a new body called The International Consortium for Agile (ICAgile) and lead by Alistair Cockburn and others.

Last year I decided to not attend an already booked Scrum certification course when they changed their rules to regular re-certifications. I decided I won’t need that. It’s a cash cow. I rather try to work with people who understand and work based on The Agile Manifesto and learn from them. Even if the outcome is neither Scrum nor any other agile method, if we ship in time and high quality, and if the code is easy to maintain after three, six or twelve years, we’ve done a good job.

One thought on “Agile Certification to the rescue

  1. Repeat after me:

     'I am self-certifying'
     'I am self-certifying'
     'I am self-certifying'

Comments are closed.