Smalltalk Solutions is Back. March 2011.


Georg from the Smalltalk Industry Council just announced Smalltalk Solutions 2011, which will be held in Vegas, March 13th to March 16th 2011.

This time, one of our goals is to attract strangers, i.e. non-Smalltalk[er]s to our conference.

Times for this have never been better over the last 10 years, so I hope STIC and the organizers will reach lots of Smalltalk-wannabees.

It’s good to see Smalltalk Solutions being revived. Smalltalk now has major vendor-neutral events on three continents:

If I look at what we’ve heard from people in the U.S. after our VA Smalltalk Forum Europe I guess this is great news for all the Smalltalkers abroad!

4 thoughts on “Smalltalk Solutions is Back. March 2011.

  1. Hey,

    I’m an entrepreneur, and an ex-Smalltalker – I jumped ship to Java around 1998, and then a few years later got into the management side of things, though I still keep my hand in coding.

    And I happen to be writing an application in my “spare” time now (or whatever you call the time between work, family, and my 2yr old).I’ve already started in Java, but I’d love to code in Smalltalk again – the most productive languages I’ve ever worked in. While I am coding, it would would probably go about 3x faster if I did it in Smalltalk – and be more fun as well – solve the business problem, not fight the technology.

    But then I expect I would end up with major pain in developing UIs for different platforms (it has to run on the web, within social networks sites such as Facebook, and on mobile platforms like iPhone and Android). Plus it would have to be able to scale enormously. I’m looking at using as much open source as possible, and avoid licensing libraries. And I’m probably going to deploy on the cloud to start – it seems to be the easiest and cheapest way to get scale when you are small. Finally, I’d have to be able to find developers for it, once I’m able to hire developers, and move on to leading the company full time.

    Any chance Smalltalk would work for me?

    1. Ramesh,

      I guess Smalltalk would be a great choice for you, since you already have knowledge in Smalltalk. Since what you describe is a html/javascript environment, there is not much that keeps you from using whatever server-side language you want – as long as it provides good bindings to JavaScript.
      In case of Smalltalk, taking a look at Seaside (www.seaside.st) and its jQuery integration (think jQTouch for iPhone/Android) is surely a good idea. If you need to run on open source Smalltalk, you can look at either GNU Smalltalk, Squeak or Pharo, each of them runs nicely on Linux, the most important web server OS.
      I hope your web service will be so successful that you have to scale endlessly. Most of the times, this will be achieved by running multiple smalltalk / seaside images behind a load balancer with sticky sessions. The same trick as with Ruby on Rails or other technologies.
      Talking about talent: chances are you won’t find Java developers with the right skill set for your project, so you’ll have to invest in their education anyways. Combine that with your own observations about the productivity of Smalltalk to guess how fast each of the approaches will break even. I am sure the Smalltalk path pays back a lot faster. Not sure what country you are at, but there are many universities around the globe that use Smalltalk for teaching object technologies. Visit esug.org to see if there is one near you.

      Keep us informed about your decision and success!

      Joachim

  2. Good initiative but you simply can’t attract non-smalltalkers to smalltalk if you are surrounded by Las Vegas.

    You do it by attracting enterpreneurs where capital ventures happen. You do it by showing them a clear path on how they can kick ass making a business in this economy using pharo or whatever ST flavor is the next thing they need to attract capitalists.

    A shiny city won’t fix it if you can’t do it right.

    1. Seabstian,

      good to hear you think about the matter. I am sure STIC is open for any suggestions and ideas on how to attract Smalltalk newbies. Maybe you should get in touch with Georg or any other STIC Board member. I’ve never been to Vegas, but I’ve heard it’s a nice plaxe for IT events.
      Are you criticizing the choice of Vegas or trying to say that going to a place like Vegas is not enough?

      What would be your ideas?

      Joachim

Comments are closed.