New Blogger with Smalltalk topics

Tom Koschate has finally decided to join the Blogosphere with his Blog named “Nothing About Elks“. He also has a welcome present for all VA Smalltalk users which he just announced the other day on the VA Smalltalk Support Forum:

I’ve uploaded the code I use to support automated packaging using the Jenkins (formerly Hudson) integrated build server to VastGoodies.com. There’s a lot of overlap in functionality with Melissa, but there are some important differences too, including the ability to package XD images.

As you may know, I’ve been working on very similar topics, including coupling our build process with Hudson and I really look forward to having a look into Tom’s goodie and to see how he solved things. I didn’t have look into XD packaging for our customers yet, so I hope I find the time soon.

His first blog post explains a bit of why he built the tool and what scenario he found when he started on his current project:

Generally speaking, this results in having to package four to five different Windows images and a half-dozen UNIX images for each plant. Historically, each plant has been treated as a separate system with a separate release schedule. As you can imagine, this has led to some interesting forks in development.

This not only sounds familiar but also as if he’s got a lot of experience to learn from.

So welcome, Tom! I look forward to reading more and learning from your experience!